Faculty and student excellence celebrated at EMS virtual awards celebration

Congratulations to the faculty and students in The Department of Meteorology and Atmospheric Science for their achievements and award recognition!

Penn State's College of Earth and Mineral Sciences (EMS) recognized exceptional students and faculty for their academic excellence, service and leadership during its annual Wilson Awards Celebration, held virtually on Sunday, April 11. The Wilson Awards are named in honor of Matthew and Anne Wilson, major benefactors of the college.

“The virtual awards ceremony went very well,” said Lee Kump, John Leone Dean in the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences. “The acceptance speeches added a bit of interactivity and seemed to be enjoyed by all who attended.”

Wilson Award for Excellence in Research

The Wilson Award for Excellence in Research is the college’s highest research honor. This award is given in recognition of scholarly or creative excellence represented by a single contribution or a series of contributions around a coherent theme. The contribution may be original basic research or may represent the application of knowledge in the creation of a process or device useful to society. Recipient is:

  • Sukyoung Lee, professor of meteorology

John T. Ryan, Jr. Faculty Fellow

This award was created to provide supplementary funds to an outstanding faculty member in the college to further their contributions in teaching, research, and public service. Recipient is:

  • José Fuentes, professor of meteorology

Faculty Mentoring Award

The Faculty Mentoring Award honors a faculty member who invests in the success of others, whether it is a new faculty member, a student or a staff member. This award recognizes the generous contribution of time and energy it takes to mentor in teaching, research and service. Recipients are:

  • Guido Cervone. professor of geography and associate director, Institute for Computational and Data Sciences
  • Kenneth Davis, professor of atmospheric and climate science

Read the full list of recipients HERE