William Brune named Fellow of AAAS

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Seven Penn State faculty members have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Penn State News logo

By A'ndrea Elyse Messr
November 25, 2013

The Fellows are Ottar N. Bjørnstad, professor of entomology, biology and William H. Brunestatistics; Squire J. Booker, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and molecular biology; William H. Brune, chair and Distinguished Professor of Meteorology; Kevin P. Furlong, professor of geosciences; Bruce E. Logan, Evan Pugh Professor of Environmental Engineering and Kappe Professor of Environmental Engineering; Alan M. MacEachren, professor of geography; and James R. Broach, chair and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, College of Medicine.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. This year, 388 Fellows were selected for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The Fellows will receive certificates and pins on Feb 15 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Read the full story here: