2010 Wilson Banquet Awards

The following meteorology faculty, staff, alumni, and student awards and accomplishments were recognized at the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences Wilson Banquet held at the Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel on Sunday, April 11, 2010.

To view all the 2010 Willson Banquet photos:



Ellen Steidle Achievement Award

Established in 1953 by Dean Edward Steidle to honor the memory of his wife, this award recognizes those students who have been active in advancing the welfare and improvement of the College.

Andrew Rengel, Ellen Steidle Award Winner

Senior:  Andrew P. Rengel, Meteorology

Chris Slocum - 2010 Ellen Steidle Award winner

Junior:  Christopher J. Slocum, Meteorology

Edward Steidle Memorial Scholar Award

Established in 1981 to honor Edward Steidle, Dean of the College from 1929 to 1953, this award broadens the educational opportunities for EMS Students.

Arielle L. Hesse, Geography

Tyler McCandless - Dean Edward Steidle Award Winner

Tyler C. McCandless, Meteorology

Earth and Mineral Sciences Academy for Global Experience (EMSAGE)

Established in 2009, EMSAGE helps students develop as communicators and collaborators, and prepares them to be effective leaders in their disciplines and responsible global citizens.  Those students who aspire to EMSAGE Laureate status achieve notable success in scholarship, service, global literacy and experiential learning.

*Thirty-one students from the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences will graduate with EMSAGE Laureate status this Fall, but only EMSAGE laureates from Meteorology are listed here.

EMS Laureates

Drew P. Anderson, Frank J. Dale, James D. Dickey, Stephen C. Dobosh, Tyler C. McCandless, Andrew P. Rengel, Krystal L. Repoff, Matthew Rydzik

Gladys Snyder Education Grant

William J. Syrett, Lecturer and Manager, Joel N. Myers Weather Center

Jeffrey M. Warner, Lecturer and Advisor and Chemistry, Physics, and Math Tutor

"The Penn State Weather Camp:  Affordable Tuition = Future Penn Staters" 

Charles L. Hosler Alumni Scholar Medal

Warren M. Washington - Hosler Scholar Medal 2010
Warren M. Washington

New Faculty

Jose D. Fuentes, Professor of Meteorology

Promotion and/or Tenure

Michael E. Mann to Professor
Scott Richardson
to Senior Research Associate


John H. Clark, Associate Professor of Meteorology
Nelson L. Seaman
, Associate Professor of Meteorology
John C. Wyngaard
, Professor of Meteorology